The founding of the Canadian County Board took place on Sunday, November 15, 1987. The meeting was chaired by GAA President Dr. Mick Loftus of Crossmolina, County Mayo. Among those in attendance were Toronto’s Cormac O’Muiri, Ottawa’s Pat Kelly, Montreal’s Paul Moran and Paddy Dunne (R.I.P.). The first elections of officers were Toronto’s Paul Kennedy as Chairman, Vancouver’s John O’Flynn as Secretary and Ottawa’s Michael Connolly as Treasurer.

Thirty Years Later, the GAA in Canada has grown across the country and clubs are now represented in the provinces of Newfoundland, Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, Quebec, Ontario, Winnipeg, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia.

New clubs are under development in various locations and if you are in a city/region where there is no club yet registered, please do not hesitate to get in touch with the Canadian Gaelic Athletic Association as we may have local contacts in your area.